Continuing Education

North American PRRS Symposium

Office of Public Engagement

3505 Veterinary Medicine Basic Sciences Building, MC-002
2001 S. Lincoln Ave.
Urbana, IL 61802
P: (217) 333-2907
F: (217) 333-4628

Lawrence D. Firkins, DVM, MS, MBA Associate Dean for Public Engagement

Emerging and Foreign Diseases of Swine


December 4, 2021

Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile Hotel

540 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611

The North American PRRS Symposium was initiated in November 2003 as the “International Workshop on PRRS”. The conference continues to focus on the latest knowledge and novel tools for the control of PRRS, one of the most costly viral diseases to ever face a global swine industry. In recent years, the emergence of new swine viruses, including the PEDV and ASFV, has expended the topics of this symposium to emerging and foreign swine diseases. The symposium has integrated with NC229, which provides the means to deliver a much larger and more comprehensive meeting experience.

This very successful meeting is attended by an internationally recognized group of scientists, researchers, industry and academic professionals and students.

This year’s event will be scheduled in connection with the Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases (CRWAD).

  • NA PRRSS/NC229 Advisor:

    Dr. Raymond (Bob) R. R. Rowland, University of Illinois

    Planning Committee:

    Executive Director, NA PRRSS – Dr. Ying Fang, University of Illinois
    Industry Liaison – Dr. Lisa Becton, National Pork Board
    NA PRRSS Internal Coordinators and Proceedings Editors – Kristen Eighner and Crystal Zulauf, University of Illinois

    Joint Scientific Committee:

    Co-Chairs, Joint Scientific Committee:

    Dr. Ying Fang, University of Illinois
    Dr. Sheela Ramamoorthy, North Dakota State University

    Committee Members:

    Dr. Diego G. Diel, Cornell University
    Dr. Scott Kenney, The Ohio State University
    Dr. Pablo Pineyro, Iowa State University
    Dr. Roman Pogranichniy, Kansas State University
    Dr. Hiep Vu, University of Nebraska
    Dr. Zhengguo Xiao, University of Maryland

  • All abstracts will be presented as posters. A limited number of abstracts will be selected for oral presentation.

    Abstract Information and Instructions

    Abstracts are submitted to one of the following subject areas:

    • Virus structure and gene function
    • Virus transmission, biosecurity and area control
    • Host response to infection, including host genetics and innate/adaptive immunity
    • Vaccination strategies and therapeutics
    • Detection, diagnostics and surveillance

    All abstracts are published and made public through the meeting website and other venues. A meeting program and abstracts will be compiled and posted on-line at the meeting website as well as distributed to registered meeting participants at the beginning of the symposium.

    Abstract Submission Deadlines:

    July 15, 2021: Early Abstract Submission Deadline
    September 15, 2021: Extended Deadlines for Abstract Submission
    October 22, 2021: Late-Breaking Abstract Submission Deadline (Poster Only)

    Submit an Abstract

    Please note: Abstract submissions for the CRWAD should be submitted separately though the CRWAD website.

  • Attendees are responsible for making their own hotel reservations prior to November 10. Hotel rooms are available for the NA PRRS Symposium through the CRWAD website.

    Make a Reservation

  • Payment must be provided at the time of registration to guarantee enrollment. Early registration is recommended.

    • Pre-Registration (On or before November 30, 2021): $100
    • Onsite Registration: $150

    Register Now

    Cancellation Policy

    Full refunds, less a 10 percent cancellation fee, will be given if written notification is received by Tuesday, November 30, 2021. Written cancellation should be sent to Registrations are transferable. After November 30, 2021, refunds will not be made. We reserve the right to cancel sessions and to change speakers if necessary. In the event of a conference cancellation, all registrants will receive a full refund. The University is not responsible for travel expenses in the event of a cancellation or date change.

    Continuing Education

    Continuing education credit is available for veterinarians.

    Please note: registrations for the CRWAD should be submitted separately though the CRWAD website.

  • Friday, December 3, 2021

    Annual Business Meeting – Time To Be Announced

    Saturday, December 4, 2021

    Educational Sessions – Time To Be Announced
    Reception Featuring Poster Presentations – Time To Be Announced

    Additional information will be provided as it is finalized.

  • Travel fellowships are provided to aid graduate students and postdoctoral fellows in presenting their experimental results at the symposium.

    The awarded funds are determined by the NA PRRSS Travel Fellowship Awards Selection Committee and are given in the form of a reimbursement check (or wire transfer for international recipients) for allowable expenses up to the award amount. Awardees will be notified by October 1, 2021.

    Travel Fellowship Information and Instructions

    Applicants Must:

    • Be a graduate student or post-doctoral fellow working on PRRS, emerging/foreign animal diseases of swine.
    • Be the primary author on an abstract covering original research findings. The research described in the abstract must be presented as a poster during the NA PRRSS/NC-229. A few selected awardees will also give an oral presentation.
    • Attend all meeting sessions.

    Application Deadline:

    July 15, 2021

    Submit a Travel Fellowship Application

    Please note: Awards for the CRWAD should be submitted separately though the CRWAD website.

Questions, email the Office of Public Engagement at or call 217-333-2907.