College Recognizes Service and Excellence

Sep 22, 2015 / General News

Jodi Flaws receives all-around excellence award from Dean Peter Constable

Eight members of the faculty and staff and one graduate student at the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine received awards for service excellence in a ceremony held September 22. The awards were presented by Dean Peter Constable.

Two veterinary technicians in the Veterinary Teaching Hospital were honored:

  • Shari Poruba, ophthalmology, received the Shirley Seets Award for Staff Excellence for demonstrated excellence in job performance and service;
  • Justin Lancaster, anesthesiology, received the Dr. Robert and Lucy Graham Award for a staff member who has made outstanding contributions.

Alan Upchurch, coordinator of audiovisual services, received the Terry and Judy Rathgeber Academic Professional Excellence Award for outstanding performance by an academic professional staff member.

Dr. Daniel Dorbandt, a resident in ophthalmology, received the Dr. Walter E. Hoffmann and Dr. Ann L. Johnson Resident Teaching Excellence Award for an outstanding graduate student or resident in training for a specialty board recognized by the American Veterinary Medical Association.

Dr. Jing Yang, associate professor in comparative biosciences, received the Zoetis Animal Health Award for Research Excellence, presented to a current faculty member who shows promise of attaining or has already attained national recognition.

Daniel Dorbandt and Shari Poruba

Dr. Gordon and Mrs. Helen Kruger Excellence Awards in four categories are given to college faculty members. This year, the winners are:

  • Anne Barger, clinical professor in pathobiology and assistant director of the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, received the teaching award in recognition of an instructor who presents material with enthusiasm, dedication, clarity, and creativity.
  • Laura Garrett, clinical associate professor and head of the oncology service as well as chief of staff of the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, received the service award for outstanding committee work, clinical service and continuing education.
  • CheMyong “Jay” Ko, associate professor in comparative biosciences, received the research award in recognition of quality and quantity of publications, research awards, and outside recognition of the nominee’s work.
  • Jodi Flaws, professor in comparative biosciences, received the all-around excellence award, presented to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching, research, and service.