To the CVM Web Site To the UIUC Web Site
Veterinary Report
Back Issues Archive
Fall 1998 Vol.22 No.4
Features CVM News Dean Research Kudos Alumni Events Contact

What’s new?

Keep your College and fellow alumni informed of pertinent events in your life by sending your news to Vet Report, U of I College of Veterinary Medicine, 2938 VMBSB, 2001 South Lincoln Avenue, Urbana, IL 61802; fax:217/244-2988; email:

Honors at ISVMA meeting ...
At the 117th Annual Convention of the Illinois State Veterinary Medical Association, held February 5 through 7 in Springfield, Drs. Tom Powell (Purdue ’64), of Springfield, and Gerald Long (Iowa State ’34), of Mount Sterling, received the President’s Award. Drs. J. Wayne Rehn (’61), of Alpha, and Tom Russell (Iowa State ’62), of Glenview, received the Service Award. Dr. Dick Hull (Missouri ’59), of Springfield, stepped down as ISVMA president and passed the gavel to Dr. Roger Mahr (Iowa State ’71), of Geneva. Dr. Raymond Hill (Kansas State ’51) is president-elect.

... and CVMA Installation Dinner
The Chicago Veterinary Medical Association held its annual installation dinner dance on January 16. Dr. Dave Reed (Iowa State ’80) passed the gavel to incoming president Dr. J.B. Bruederle (’91); president-elect is Dr. John Ciribassi (’84). Dr. Doug Carlson (Iowa State ’71) received the President’s Service Award. Dr. Dick Guelzow (’80) was given the Merit Award, and the Lifetime Service Award went to Dr. Tom Russell.

Dr. Sam Allen (’70), of Wayzata, Minnesota, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Minnesota Veterinary Medical Association. He has served that organization as president, program chair, Web site committee member, and finance chair. He is featured on a local radio call-in program called “Ask Dr. Sam.”

Dr. Allen has also been president of the Affiliated Emergency Veterinary Service and the Animal Care Foundation and is a member of the American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology and the Academy of Veterinary Allergy. He established the Northwest Animal Hospital in Plymouth 24 years ago.

Dr. Lewis Thomas (’71) was named “Veterinarian of the Year,” the highest honor bestowed by the West Virginia Veterinary Medical Association. After earning a master’s degree in public health from the University of Texas, he spent the next 27 years as state veterinarian and director of the Animal Health Division in West Virginia. Under his leadership, the state has been designated bovine tuberculosis-free, brucellosis-free, and pseudorabies-free. His work encompasses epidemiological investigations, public education, and legislative consultation, among other things. “There isn’t a West Virginia veterinarian who hasn’t called on Dr. Thomas for his expertise and advice at one time or another,” notes WVVMA executive director Gayle Swank. 

Dr. Tom Updike (’82), of the Paxton (Illinois) Veterinary Clinic, was recognized for his “kindness above and beyond the call of duty” last October with the Extra Mile Award, sponsored by local businesses. He was nominated after making a house call at 5:40 a.m. to check on a dog that had been hit by a car.

Back to Alumni Main