To the CVM Web Site To the UIUC Web Site
Veterinary Report
Back Issues Archive
Fall 1998 Vol.22 No.4
Features CVM News Dean Research Kudos Alumni Events Contact


Executive Veterinary Programs Begin
for Swine and Small Animal

The kickoff of the Executive Veterinary Program (EVP) in Small Animal Health Management brought veterinarians and veterinary hospital managers from six states to the College of Veterinary Medicine in September to create their future. During the first of twelve 3-day modules that will compose the two-year program, 22 participants were guided by presenters from the Institute for Alternative Futures and the American Veterinary Medical Association to develop a personal and professional vision for the year 2010 and a plan for achieving it.

In October 34 veterinarians became the fourth class to begin the Swine EVP, the award-winning program that has opened doors for more than 100 swine practitioners so far. Their first module focused on swine industry trends, information technology, and computer applications.

The Small Animal and Swine EVPs will enhance communication, business, and strategic planning skills. Each will bring scores of nationally recognized experts from academia and industry to lead modules in their areas of expertise. EVP participants benefit from networking and interactions with other veterinary professionals. Homework and group projects are assigned between modules.

Some openings for participants and corporate sponsors are still available in each program. For information, contact: Dr. Lydia Miller, coordinator of the Small Animal EVP ( or Dr. Larry Firkins, coordinator of the Swine EVP ( Both can be reached at: Veterinary CEPS/Extension, 2938 VMBSB, 2001 S. Lincoln Ave., Urbana, IL 61802; phone: 217/333-2907.

Small Animal EVP Participants:

Steve Cairo, Long Grove, Ill.; Doug Carithers, Ames, Ia.; Lisa Chassy, Powell, Tenn., Clyde Dunphy, Springfield, Ill.; Greg Ekdale, Bloomington, Ill.; Ron Gill, West Salem, Ill.; Mark Green, Charlotte, N.C.; Ed McGinniss, Lake Villa, Ill.; Susan Markham, Charlotte, N.C.; Jay Nadler, Peotone, Ill.; Peter Nichols, Washington, Ill.; Linda Randall, Westfield Center, Ohio; Ron Reagh, Oxford, Ill.; Susan Rooy, Westfield Center, Ohio; Steven Sandino, Carlinville, Ill.; Sue Schmitt, Streator, Ill.; Amir Shanan, Broadview, Ill.; Shelly Stevens, Decatur, Ill.; John Trimble, Robinson, Ill.

Swine EVP participants:

Sandy Amass, West Lafayette, Ind.; William J. Armbruster, Hartsburg, Ill.; David P. Bane, Sidney, Ill.; David A. Baumert, Clarkson, Neb.; Lisa Becton, Princeton, Mo.; R. C. Ebert, Pleasant Hill, Mo.; Mark Eisenhart, Plains, Kan.; Pat Fairbrother, Alpha, Ill.; Steven Feuerbach, Sycamore, Ill.; Brad Gramm, Bloomington, Ill.; Michael R. Hannon, Buffalo, Minn.; Karla B. Hart, Simpson, Ill.; Doug King, Walcott, Ia.; John Korslund, Eagle Grove, Ia.; Chris Kuster, Savoy, Ill.; Kelly Lager, Ames, Ia.; James (Jamie) Lehman, Atlanta, Ill.; Duane Long, Roam, Ind.; James F. Lowe, Carthage, Ill.; Korb W. Maxwell, Exton, Penn.; Dale Mechler, Algona, Ia.; Isabelle Moreau, Spring Green, Wis.; Steven Moreland, Oregon, Wis.; Darrell Neuberger, Garner, Ia.; Max Rodibaugh, Frankfort, Ind.; Brian D. Roggow, Fairmont, Minn.; Clifford Shipley, Urbana, Ill.; Fred Sick, Sioux City, Ia.; Alan Snodgrass, West Point, Neb.; Dale Spindler, Effingham, Ill.; Shelley Stanford, Wolcott, Ind.; Kurt Van Hulzen, Sac City, Ia.; Alan Wildt, Virginia, Ill.; Marvin Wilke, Griggsville, Ill.

Back to CVM News Main