To the CVM Web Site To the UIUC Web Site
Veterinary Report
Back Issues Archive
Fall 1998 Vol.22 No.4
Features CVM News Dean Research Kudos Alumni Events Contact


AVMA Awards Go to Illinois Veterinarians

At the 1998 Annual Convention of the American Veterinary Medical Association held in Baltimore, Maryland, in July, two of the 10 veterinarians to receive top honors have served on the faculty at the College.

Dr. Erwin Small, associate dean for alumni and public affairs and professor emeritus, received the AVMA Award for his distinguished contributions to the advancement of veterinary medical organizations. The award acknowledges him as an ambassador of the veterinary medical profession and a significant contributor to the advancement of veterinary medicine organizations at state, local, and national levels. "It’s unbelievable that I would get an award for working 40-plus years in something that I love to do," remarked Dr. Small.

Dr. Ressell J. Martin(picture)

Dr. Russell J. "Jim" Martin, who formerly had a faculty appointment in veterinary pathobiology, received the AVMA Public Service Award in recognition of his contributions to public health and regulatory veterinary medicine. Dr. Martin retired last year after 33 years at the Illinois Department of Public Health in Springfield, Illinois, including 11 years as chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases.

Dr. B. Taylor Bennett, associate vice chancellor for research resources at the University of Illinois at Chicago, was also among the ten awardees. He received the Charles River Prize in recognition of his dedication to improving the welfare and well-being of laboratory animals. Dr. Bennett has frequently lectured to students at the College.

At the AVMA convention Dr. Small, who served in the United States Marine Corps, was greeted by General Colin L. Powell, USA (Ret.), who gave the keynote address.

Back to CVM News Main