About The Garden

The garden exists primarily to educate our professional veterinary students so that they will be knowledgeable regarding toxic plant identification and better able to clinically manage potential plant poisonings in animals. However, through pre-arranged tours we are happy to also accommodate other student or public groups who desire more knowledge in this area.

The garden is managed by 1-2 students selected yearly for a 2 year period (2-3 total students) of service and a college faculty advisor. These students provide all of the planning and labor required for yearly spring plantings and garden renovation, management through the summer, and then final Fall cleanup and transfer of many plants to the university greenhouses for overwintering. Over the years, those student curators’ energy, dedication and enthusiasm have been the hallmark and primary force behind the garden’s success and service to students and the general public. Those students are listed below.

Founding Student Curator: Paula Bratich
Senior Student Curators:
                  1992-1993           Wendy Grethen
                  1993-1994           David Curbo
                  1994-1995           George Langan
                  1995-1996           Bryan McGoldrick
                  1996-1997           Michael Sanborn
                  1997-1998           Kim Carlson
                  1998-1999           Jamie Kenyon
                  2000-2001           Maria Cotner
                  2001-2002           Rob Swinger
                  2002-2003           Rebecca Dieter
                  2003-2004           Marianne Krumdick
2004-2005           Jill Horton
                  2005-2006           Edward Holub
                  2006-2007           Ashley Elzerman
                  2007-2008           Richard Hill
                  2008-2009           Kelly Spence
                  2009-2010           Paul Meade
                  2010-2011           Lisa Sebree
                  2011-2012           Jason Kennell
                  2011-2012           Lindsey Preston
                  2012-2013           Anna Stobnicki
2013-2014 Anne Strong