News Releases, College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

U of I logo College of Veterinary Medicine

News from the
College of Veterinary Medicine
University of Illinois
3225 Vet. Med. Basic Sciences Bldg.
2001 S. Lincoln Ave.
Urbana, IL 61802
September 17, 2013

Release on
Contact: Chris Beuoy

Illinois Veterinary College Announces Alumni and Special Service Awards

The University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine and its alumni association will present four Dr. Erwin Small Distinguished Alumni Awards and a Special Service Award on September 19, 2013, during the college's annual Fall Conference for Veterinarians.

The Dr. Erwin Small Distinguished Alumni Award was created in honor of Dr. Erwin Small, who dedicated his entire career to the veterinary profession as professor and associate dean of the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine. The award recognizes distinguished graduates who have made significant contributions to the veterinary profession or the college.

The Special Service Award honors an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the advancement of the veterinary profession or to the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine.

The 2013 recipients of the Dr. Erwin Small Distinguished Alumni Awards are Dr. Raymond Cypess, Dr. Ronnie Elmore, Dr. Max Lang and Dr. Sheldon Rubin. The winner of this years Special Service Award is Dr. Bill McEniry.

  • After finishing his veterinary studies in 1967, Dr. Raymond Cypess earned a PhD in Parasitology and Lab Practice from the University of North Carolina. Dr. Cypess then taught microbiology and epidemiology for seven years at the University of Pittsburg before joining Cornell University, where he served as professor, director of Laboratory Medicine, and chair of Preventative Medicine until 1987. At the University of Tennessee, Memphis, he served as professor, dean of the College of Graduate Health Sciences, and vice provost for research and research training. In 1993, Dr. Cypess left academia to become chair and CEO for the non-profit research company, American Type Culture Collection. Under his direction, ATCC has become a leader in biological research, offering many new areas of laboratory services.

  • A board-certified theriogenologist, Dr. Ronnie Elmore, has served on the faculties of the University of Missouri at Columbia, Texas A&M University, and Kansas State University, where he is currently professor and associate dean for Academic Programs, Admissions and Diversity. Dr. Elmore has been a leader and mentor for over 4,500 veterinary students and has participated in 30 graduate committees and 20 residency committees. He has also become an ambassador for diversity within the veterinary field, challenging students to appreciate the differences among cultures. During his time at KSU, Dr. Elmore created an elective course, "Practicing Veterinary Medicine in a Multicultural Society," that continues to serve as a model for other colleges.

  • Dr. Max Lang, retired George T. Harrell professor and director, The Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine, served in the U.S. Army Veterinary Corps for two years after earning his DVM in 1961. Then he completed a research fellowship and became certified in laboratory animal medicine. Dr. Lang joined the College of Medicine at Penn State in 1966. During his 40-year career there, he established the Department of Comparative Medicine, developed a highly successful laboratory animal residency program, and held many leadership positions within the college. He has also served many organizations throughout his career, including the FDA, the National Research Council, the National Institutes of Health, and state and national veterinary associations.

  • Dr. Sheldon Rubin, retired director, Blum Animal Hospital, Chicago, Ill., has served his community as a veterinarian, public speaker, and author. He has been an active member of the American Veterinary Medical Association for 45 years, and has served as president of the Chicago Veterinary Medical Association, Illinois State Veterinary Medical Association and the American Heartworm Association. Since retiring from practice in 2009, Dr. Rubin has served on the Anti-Cruelty Society's board of directors, volunteering in the shelter's spay-neuter clinic as well as serving on the management committee for the Chicago Veterinary Emergency and Specialty Center, which he founded 35 years ago.

  • Two years after completing his veterinary degree at Iowa State University, Dr. Bill McEniry moved to Ashton, Ill., to lead the Ashton Veterinary Clinic, a thriving mixed animal practice he has now owned for over 50 years. Throughout the years, Dr. McEniry has played an active role in veterinary organizations, including the Northern Illinois Veterinary Medical Association, the Illinois State Veterinary Medical Association, and the American Veterinary Medical Association. He currently serves as a trustee for the AVMA Professional Liability Insurance Trust.